Culinaria
Home about us general info events contact catalog

Let Us Teach Your Kids To Cook!

We all want our kids to eat right. But the key to getting them to make healthy choices is to give them the tools so they can cook well for themselves.

That is what makes our cooking program for kids & teens so exciting. I expose them to a variety of healthy ingredients and recipes, and encourage them to eat treats in moderation. Don't miss this month's offerings: Teen Cuisine: Chinese New Year (Jan. 17) and Child & Parent Pizza Party (Jan. 29).

This summer we'll also be offering Summer Camp starting the week of June 20. For $325 per child for the entire week, campers receive a recipe packet and souvenir t-shirt. What they learn will last a lifetime. Online registration begins Feb. 7. Click here for more details.

To get the party started, on page 2 you'll find tips on how to get kids out of a food rut. You'll also find a complete list of our Winter Classes for Youth and Families.

On page 3 you'll find a great recipe for buying wholesome ingredients for a delicious dish: Szechuan Noodle Salad With Snow Peas and Peppers. It can be served cold, warm, or room temperature.

On page 4 is a salad that my kids enjoyed on New Year's Eve: Hearts of Palm with Orange Segments (Green onions are hidden in the dressing, but mum's the word!)

I look forward to cooking with you and your kids! – Chef Robyn Alexander, Director of Programs for Youth and Families, Culinaria Cooking School

Register Now for January 2011 Classes at Culinaria Cooking School

Monday, January 10
• Ladies' Lunch Bunch, 11:30 am-1:30 pm

Tuesday, January 11
• Dessert Wines, 7:30-9:30 pm
• Your New Year's Resolution Diet Class I, 7-10 pm

Wednesday, January 12
• Knife Skills, 1:30-4:30 pm
• Flavors of Tuscany, 7-10 pm

Thursday, January 13
• Wines of France, 7:30-9:30 pm
• For the Love of Mushrooms, 1:30-4:30 pm

Friday, January 14
• Sunday Brunch, 9:30 am-12:30 pm
• Couples Cooking: Wine and Appetizers, 7-10 pm

Saturday, January 15
• English High Tea, 1:30-4:30 pm
• Entertaining With Style, 7-10 pm
• Couples Cooking: Steakhouse Dinner, 7-10 pm

Monday, January 17
• Teen Cuisine: Chinese New Year, 10 am-noon
• Pasta Fresca, 1:30-4:30 pm

Tuesday, January 18
• Your New Year's Resolution Diet Class II, 7-10 pm
• Wine Class: Wintertime Reds, 7:30-9:30 pm

Wednesday, January 19
• Biscotti Paradiso, 1:30-4:30 pm
• The Flavors of Tuscany Class II, 7-10 pm

Thursday, January 20
• Wine Class: The Wines of Italy, 7:30-9:30 pm
• Knife Skills, 7-10 pm

Friday, January 21
• Weekend Entertaining: Let's Do Brunch, 1:30-4:30 pm
• Western Night Out and Beer Pairing, 7-10 pm

Saturday, January 22
• Cooking 101: Weekend Workshop, 10 am-4 pm
• Meals for the Diabetic on the Go, 9:30 am-12:30 pm
• Italian Wine Dinner: Guest Chef, 7-10 pm

Sunday, January 23
• Cooking 101: Weekend Workshop, 10 am-4 pm

Monday, January 24
• Pasta Workshop, 9:30 am-12:30 pm

Tuesday, January 25
• Bread Making, 9:30 am-12:30 pm
• Your New Year's Resolution Diet Class III, 7-10 pm
• Wine Class: Napa vs. Sonoma, 7:30-9:30 pm

Wednesday, January 26
• Pies, Jams, and Fruit Butters, 9:30 am-12:30 pm
• Healthy, Mindful Meals and More, 7-9 pm
• The Flavors of Tuscany III, 7-10 pm

Thursday, January 27
• Fungalicious Mushroom Class, 7-10 pm
• Wine Class: The Wines of Spain, 7:30-9:30 pm

Friday, January 28
• Super Salsas, 7-10 pm
• Flavors from the Sicilian Countryside, 7-10 pm

Saturday, January 29
• Child & Parent Pizza Party, 9:30 am-noon
• Basic Stocks 1:30-4:30 pm
• Effortless, Elegant Dinner, 7-10 pm

Monday, January 31
• Super Soups, 11:30 am-1:30 pm

Click here to register.

Next: How to Get Your Kids Out of a Food Rut